Awards 2018-01-19T10:37:48+00:00

Australian Rotary Health “Medal”

The Board of Australian Rotary Health awards an annual ‘Medal’ to an individual who has made a contribution of outstanding service to Australian Rotary Health. The Medal is the second highest award of meritorious service, after Life Membership (which ARH bestows), and is awarded annually. Recipients are presented with a framed certificate and commemorative pin.

Past Recipients

2003:  Loch Adams (deceased), Fred Hay (deceased), Prof Michael Sawyer OAM & Fay Jackson
2004:  Noel Trevaskis
2005:  Philip James Francis
2006:  Paul Henningham
2007:  Professor Anthony Jorm
2008:  Dick White
2009:  Geoff Kennedy (deceased)
2010:  Ron Beslich OAM
2011:  Peter Lean
2012:  Rob Henry (deceased)
2013:  Geoffrey Bailey (deceased) and Joy Gillett OAM
2014:  Dean Brown and Bob Aitken AM
2015:  David and Karen Brown
2016:  Keith Henning OAM
2017:  Mel Gray

2017 Recipient

Mel Gray, Past President and a member of Rotary Club of Blacktown City.

Mel Gray is a man who has achieved what many may deem impossible. Since 2005 he has participated in six long distance bike rides, which is a feat in itself, but the most impressive part is that Mel did it all while battling osteoarthritis.

With PP Mel on his bike, and a support team of three other Rotarians from the Rotary Club of Blacktown City behind him, he embarked on his first journey from
Blacktown to Bourke in 2005. Mel rode 728 kilometres across 8 days, visiting Rotary Clubs along the way to promote and raise money for the Arthritis Foundation and Australian Rotary Health. The overall aim was to eventually raise enough funds to set up a PhD research scholarship into Arthritis to show how exercise can assist with symptoms.

Dick White District Achievement Award

Dick White

This Award is bestowed in honour of Past Australian Rotary Health Director, PDG Dick White, who dedicated a long service to Australian Rotary Health, including his tireless efforts as Chairman of the Rotary Health Safari and the Great Australian Bike Ride.

Presented annually to the nominated District’s Governor at the ARH AGM. Selection is made by the Executive Committee of ARH, in conjunction with Dick White or his representative. Criteria includes the hosting of a major promotional event, a significant increase in donations, a significant increase in Friends of ARH or other major contribution.

Past Recipients:

2010: District 9810,Vic,for their annual bike ride to District Conference.
2011: District 9680, NSW for their financial contribution to Australian Rotary Health, particularly during 2011.
2012: District 9550, Queensland, for their major annual fundraising event, Banish the Black Dog Ride.
2013: District 9830, Tasmania for initiatives including Sally’s Ride, The Ulverstone Health Expo & their many Funding Partner PhD Scholarships.
2014: District 9675, introducing the ARH Golden Microscope  Award and  support for Indigenous Health Scholarships,  Funding Partner PhD Scholarships.
2015: District 9650, acknowledge the support of District Governors and, in particular, their partners for naming ARH as the “Partner Project” in each consecutive year from 2011/12 to 2015/16 and before that in 2008/2009 and 2006/2007.
2016: District 9810, since 1986, Rotarians, partners, friends and Exchange Students undertake a 700km plus bike ride in the lead up to the District 9810 Conference.  The 2016 ride was known as the ‘Million Dollar Milestone Ride’ as it raised enough support to celebrate reaching the donation of $1 million since the ride commenced 30 years ago.

2017 Recipient

District 9830: Acknowledging the District’s increased awareness with the increase in Funding Partner PhD scholarship and the continue engagement through their Health Expos.

Award for Knowledge Dissemination in Mental Health

Australian Rotary Health  sponsors an annual award for knowledge

dissemination through the Society for Mental Health Research (SMHR). The award is given to a person who has shown outstanding service in the promotion of evidence-based interventions, implementing them into practice or making the public more aware of their existence.

Research has produced a large body of evidence-based knowledge about effective treatments. However, many who would benefit from these treatments are often unable to access them as they are not made routinely available. Open to all clinicians, researchers, consumers and organisations, the awardee is given a plaque and expenses of attending and presenting their research at the annual SMHR meeting. The winner is available to address Rotary meetings in the 12 months after accepting the award.

Past Recipients

2008  Professors Helen Christensen & Kathy Griffiths
2009  Professor Perminder Sachdev
2010  Betty Kitchene
2012  Professor Jan Copeland
2013 Dr Marie Yap
2014 Dr Lexine Stapinski
2015 Professor Eóin Killackey
2016 Dr Christina Marel
2017 Dr Cath Chapman

2017 Recipient

Dr Cath Chapman the 2017 recipient of the Knowledge Dissemination Award for her contribution to the Cracks in the Ice program, which provides trusted, evidence-based information and resources about crystal methamphetamine (ice) for the community.